Reintroduce Pay Per View Online Advertising
Saturday, February 27th, 2010 Blog, Pay Per View CPV by hooqyPPV stands for Pay Per View and is comparable to Pop -Up traffic, Although with some networks you can choose to have your ads to actually Pop-under.
In a nutshell, this traffic runs from a software that is installed on the end user’s computer. The Adware installs is NOT a hidden thing installed without user consent or knowledge, but rather something they have AGREED to install in order to enjoy something free in return. Users of these applications know that they may have to view occasional ads from time to time as a direct result of this install.
It’s important to understand that “Legal Adware” traffic is NOT caused by Spyware or Malaware…etc.. This traffic is COMPLETELY legal.
So this legal adwareis basically where a user downloads and uses an ad-supported software which he/she can un-installat anytime.
The contextual advertising works in two ways:
A – Some ads can be triggered when user view a certain website or URL.
B – Some ads can be triggered when users type in a particular term. In both cases the “Ads” are going to pop – over whatever the user is typing and/or visiting!
The beauty of this, is that this type of traffic gives us (the advertisers) MUCH more targeting than ANY other traffic source!
It’s even better (and cheaper) than PPC traffic (where you pay when a user “click” on your ad).
The real strength of PPV traffic… is that you can target by Keyword and/or URL.
So, by using this legal Adware traffic you can display an ad about “Gambling Website” while the user is actually visiting 888.com (the largest gamble website online).
Similarly… you can display your affiliate landing page when the user type the keyword: “Online Gambling” – I.e. Your ad goes to the user’s eyes WHILE they are looking for the EXACT same thing!
Even thought that the Adware traffic are COMPLETELY LEGAL… some CPA networks (like Azoogle.com) will just refuse to deal with you if they know you are promoting their offers using this type of traffic.
Other CPA networks, will just ask you to sign an addition form that is basically assuring them that you are not going to use any illegal Adware to promote their offers.
Our advertisers usually buy Hooqy PPV taffic to promote CPA network (Copeac, CJ, Clickbank, etc) campaigns. The traffic is so damn targeted, The advertisers got results that were more than enough to compensate the campaign’s investment.
A complete example to run the Pay Per View Campaign in Hooqy Media
Friday, January 1st, 2010 Advertiser, Pay Per View CPV by hooqyLet’s conclude this section with a realistic example for ONE niche. Let’s say you gathered 15 sites and list of keywords, signed up with their affiliate programs and set up your campaign. Let’s say that five of those sites are failures and don’t get even one unique, even if you are the highest bidder. Five other sites with keyword list give you 200-300 uniques per day, 3 other sites with keyword list give you 500-700 uniques per day and the two best sites with keyword list give you 1,000-1,500. Thus, for that niche you get around 1,000-2,500 views per day. In addition, you have these additional facts.
i) Your AVERAGE CPV is $0.004U.S.D.
ii) Your average payout is $30U.S.D./per sale
iii) Your average conversion rate is 20%.
Now…for every 1,000 visitors (daily minimum) you get four sales.
Therefore, for a daily cost of 1,000*$0.004=$4 you make around $120U.S.D. per/day and that’s only for one of your campaigns.
What that example shows us is that you don’t need hundreds or thousands of views to make a killing. With a tiny budget and some common sense, you can do GREAT!
In any case, you should always experiment and test. Even a $0.001 increase or decrease in your bidding may give you good traffic or no traffic at all. You should also be aware that most companies let you know only how much the highest bidder bids. That’s your only clue. That’s why testing is so important.
The payout Problem
Our main method includes choosing and signing with a significant number of affiliate programs for every niche. The payout problem has to do with the fact that you have to reach a specific number in affiliate commissions
before being paid by a particular affiliate program.
So, if for example you sign with a program that pays you $40 per/sale and you have to reach $100 in commissions before getting paid, that means you should make at least 3 sales before requesting your money.
If the target URL with keywords of that particular program gets in your campaign 2,000-3,000 uniques per day and that program has a normal conversion rate of 20%, you’re only going to need a few days before reaching that number.
That brings me to our dating example. If you choose to be paid on free signups, you’re obviously going to experience some huge conversion rates.
However, there are some downfalls. For example, if you have a list of 10 sites with keyword list that belong to different affiliate networks, you’re paid $2-3 per signup and you’re only getting a few uniques for each of your target URLs, then obviously you’re going to need a good amount of time before being paid by each network. Thus, for a target URL that receives 3-4 uniques per day you’ll need more than 2 months before reaching the payout the network requires!
In addition to this, you don’t have the capability of bidding really high since the payout is so small.
What I want to say, is that you should choose niches and affiliate programs that pay you BIG. Actually, affiliate sites paying big are the RULE and not the exception. Also, study carefully the payout terms of each affiliate site to avoid later surprises.
Pay Per View Campaign Method Step by Step in Hooqy Media
Thursday, December 31st, 2009 Advertiser, Pay Per View CPV by hooqyWhat we’re going to do is to teach you how to run successful PPV advertising campaigns in Hooqy Media. We have already advised many advertisers using this method to generate very good conversion.
Step 1 – Choose your niches and your specific niche sites
Ok…Let’s start…You probably observe that I use the word “niches” and not “niche”. That’s, because it will be the best for you if you choose more than one niche to work with. Since your traffic will be extremely targeted, it is unlikely that a single niche will give you enough traffic.
The initial procedure might take you some more time, but believe me, the results are HIGHLY rewarding.
But how do you choose your niches? To start, let’s say that your niches must have TWO characteristics.
A) There must be a good amount of HIGH TRAFFIC sites in that niche. In the “men weight loss”, many sites receive a huge amount of visitors (menshealth.com, health.com, etc…)
These sites and many more have huge traffic that you can take advantage of later on when you’ll set up your PPV campaign.
How to find those sites with high volume of traffic? There are actually three ways I use the most.
1) Google….
Google is my best friend. Taking again the “men weight loss” as an example, it is very easy to make a list of high-targeted men weight loss sites. I’ll simply visit Google and search for “men weight loss tips”, “men healthy weight”,”men weight loss exercise” etc…
I imagine that you get the point. Within 10 minutes or so, you should be able to make a good list of high-targeted domains for your niches. The number of entries in the list can of course vary depending on the selected niches. It might be five or it might be 50.
Advice: Don’t hesitate to include sites that don’t “SEEM” popular to you.
The fact that YOU may not know or haven’t heard a lot about a certain site doesn’t mean that this site will not bring you traffic.
2) Alexa
What a great way to find high-traffic sites! Below, you can see a screenshot of Alexa’s main page.
Let’s say again, that I want to find some popular sites about men weight loss.
The procedure is simple. Continuing our example, I go to the categories>Health> Fitness, (there are even more specific sub-categories like Advice and Guides, etc; however the broad “fitness” category is just enough).
Now, look at the right side of the page. There, you can see the most popular sites of this category.
Therefore, the first thing I do is to copy these sites. Then, I click on “site info” for some or all of these sites. A new page will come up with specific information about the site(s). In our example, you can see the page about “menshealth.com”. If you click “related links”, located on the left menu, you will get a list of other popular related sites.
This will help you expand your list. If one of those sites has an ALEXA rank UNDER 100,000 it is usually a good idea to include it in your list.
Alexa.com has hundreds of categories and sometimes it is difficult to find appropriate categories for your niches. Therefore, to make things easier you can take a specific site associated with your niche and enter it as a search term into ALEXA.
Let’s again take the men weight loss niche as an example. Assume that I want to find the proper category in ALEXA. I will take a site that I know like “menshealth.com” and enter it as a search term in Alexa’s main Page.
Normally, a page with results will show up with the first result being the specific site you entered.
Now…If you click the “overview” link, you’ll come up with a page of information specific to that site. At the end of the page, you’ll find the Alexa category to which the site belongs.
3) Account Manager
When you sign up with a Hooqy Media, you will probably be assigned by our account manager. Our account manager is a person dedicated to answering your questions and approving your campaigns.
A very nice way of building up a successful URL list for your niche is to contact our account manager and ask them to send you a list of URLs that are popular in our system.
Our account manager will be more than happy to assist you with any inquiries.
Since you’ll be making your money from affiliate offers, you obviously need your sites to offer an affiliate program. We’ll come to that subject later on after we’ve explained more about setting your campaigns. There are actually some things relevant to affiliate programs in general that you need to be aware of.
At this stage, you should find the affiliate programs of the sites you gathered and sign-up with them.
However, I will elaborate on that later.
The sites that you gathered earlier must offer an affiliate program.
Since you’ll be making your money from affiliate offers, you obviously need your sites to offer an affiliate program. I’ll come to that subject later on after I’ve explained more about setting your campaigns. Generally speakly, there are actually some things relevant to affiliate programs that you need to be aware of.
At this stage, you should find the affiliate programs of the sites you gathered and sign-up with them.
Again, more on that later.
Hooqy Media also allows the advertisers to add the list of keywords. To create around finding good keywords, the advertisers need to analyze and search based on the following tools:
Alexa.
We know that Alexa publishes data on how much traffic a website receives. They rank web pages according to a scale were as a lower score a website has, the more traffic this website receives.
Alexa’s way of ranking a page is that they rank websites with its proprietary system, where the highest score is 1. If a website has an Alexa ranking of 1, it means that the website is among the mostly visited website on the net.
We will use Alexa to find keywords that have a lot of traffic.
Alexa has, in fact, a feature where you can see what keywords that drive most traffic to the website they have analyzed.
See the following screenshot:
Google Keyword Tool.
We do not have to use this tool at all, because Alexa is telling us that this keyword has a lot of traffic.
You can use it if you want to, just to make sure that this keyword generates traffic.
When you use Google Keyword Tool, make sure that you use the “exact match” feature so you find the search volume for that keyword as is, and not as a part of a longer keyword phrase.
I will use GKT in my 3 case study, as evidence of traffic.
The Google’s keyword tool is not 100% adequate when it comes to how many searches for a keyword or keyword phrase.
Don’t hang yourself up in those numbers, because Alexa has already told us that those keywords are responsible for the majority of the traffic to the website, so we know that those keywords are generating traffic.
You can also use other keyword tools as “Wordtracker” and similar tools that give out search volume for specific keyword phrases instead of Google Keyword tool.
STEP2 – Visit your STEP 1 sites and gather the “registration/order” URLs
Ok…You’ve completed step 1.
You have chosen your niches and made a good list of sites for these niches. What’s next? You now have to make a list with the registration/order URLs of the sites you gathered in STEP 1.As a result,our traffic will be highly targeted.
Finding the Registration/Order URL
a) Sites containing Single registration/order URL
In the simplest case, the site you’re targeting has only one registration or order page in your interest. This can happen, for example, in men weight loss sites that have only one registration form, or sites that sell only one product. In such a case, you can find the URL you want by moving your mouse over the “register”, “signup”, “order”, etc. link or picture of the site and writing down the URL that appears at the bottom left of your browser.
Actually, this is what I’m doing in this acaipure-ultra.com example. See pictures below.
b) Site with multiple registration/order URLs
It is common for a site to have multiple register or order pages. That can happen when a site sells multiple products or offers different registration forms for people in different areas.
c) One order/signup URL, each containing a different Query part
You assumed that you had four very different order addresses. But most of the time it is NOT the case. Most of the time a site will use a single order/registration page with a “query part” that varies for each product.
Therefore, in “book” example when you visit the main page you will see three Harry potter books. The “order” URL of each book has the form of “www.nfsbooks.com/order.php?”
The key character here is the question mark (?). This character states that the target page after clicking the link is specific to the “query part”(the part after the “?”). You do not really have to know anything more than that….
When you mouse over the ‘Buy” link of each book, you’ll notice an address with that form.
The URL part BEFORE the “?” always remains the same, while the part AFTER the “?” changes for each book.
When you visit a site and find yourself in a situation like that, you MUST write down EACH single address again.
Special Case
Sometimes, the registration/order page changes for exactly the same offer.
If you check the registration URL now and then check it again later in your next browsing session the URL will be different. Why that happens doesn’t really matter. The important thing is what you will do in a case like that.
Usually, the part that changes comes at the very end of the registration URL and is a long alpharethmetic.
E.g “www.exampleurl.com/register.php?x=<14345EEDW4EW78OIUL653> “
The bold part is the part that changes.
If you ever see a long alphanumeric string like that in a URL, you probably have experienced the situation just mentioned. In such a case, the target URL you will have to write down is the URL part that comes BEFORE the “?”.
In your previous example, that would be:
http:/friendfinder.com/register.cgi.
A Special case within the special case:
Imagine that you go to the main page of a site and while there, you find two links:
“ www.exampleurl.co m/?x=registration&y =”
“www.exampleurl.com/?x=login&y=”
If you have read the previous sections carefully, you’ve noticed by now that the above examples are a combination of the “query part” case and your “alphanumeric string” special case.
In order to make the above example work you need a way to say, “I want my destination page to appear every time the users visits
“www.exampleurl.com”
Which;
1)”www.exampleurl.com” should be followed by a “?” part
and
2) The “?” part should contain “x=registration”.
Why you want that is,
A) Because you’re only interested in the registration page and not the login page.
B) The alphanumeric string part changes, so you can’t include it in your target URL.
In which case, you should write down the address part that comes BEFORE the “alphanumeric” part.That’s it;the address part before the “&” character.In the above example,the url parts you should write down are
“ www.exampleurl.com/?x=registration”
“www.exampleurl.com/?x=login”
Step 3 – Gathering your destination URLs
Ok…This is probably the most fascinating part of the whole process.
Let us use friendfinder.com as example again; you’ve already visited friendfinder.com and gathered the registration URL. You’ve also set that URL as one of your target URLs.
Now…Whenever someone visits that URL, your site will show up.
What exactly will be your page that will pop? Will it be a custom dating page or a direct affiliate page?
Answer: If you can, you want your destination page to be EXACTLY the same as your TARGET URL…The only difference will be that the page that pops- over will have your affiliate code in it.
Did you get lost? Hold on…
In our friendfinder.com example, when someone visits “http://friendfinder.com/p/register.cgi” you want THE exact same page to pop-over the original one. Therefore, the user will have two pages.
i) The “original” registration page
ii) A second IDENTICAL registration page they will POP OVER the original page.
Therefore, whenever a user clicks on “http://friendfinder.com/p/register.cgi” and your IDENTICAL affiliate URL pops-over, you have A VERY, VERY GOOD CHANCE to grab the affiliate commission.
How does that happen? Although I explained that in the early sections of the book, let me say it again.. Since the page that pops over is EXACTLY the same, most of the time the user will think that something goes wrong. (E.g., he doesn not click in the right place etc)
Now, since your destination URL appears OVER the target URL the user will probably re-click the registration URL, but now in your IDENTICAL affiliate destination page!
Therefore, as you’ve probably understood by now, the key elements in this little dirty method are two:
1) Your destination page “looks” identical to the target URL.
Although, in the user’s eyes the original page and your destination page look the same – your destination page with your affiliate code in it doesn’t have the same URL as the original one.
Therefore, if the URL of the original page is, for example, ”www. friendfinder.com/register”, the destination page might be “www.someaffiliatenetwork.com/someaffiliatecode” or anything like that….
2) Your destination URL Pop-overs: the target URL Pop-overs are usually distracting and annoying for the user. However, that happens because most of the time they are not relevant to what the user currently experiences while browsing. Since your traffic is so targeted, you want to catch the user’s attention as soon as possible. Imagine if you used a pop-under instead of a popover. 99% of the time the user would continue his browsing session without even noticing that your destination page popped. Your destination URL would be buried under all other browser windows.
Destination pages and Affiliate links
There are two main types of affiliate links.
a) Once you’ve signed up with them, some affiliate programs will provide you with a link or a simple affiliate code you can add to ANY of the pages for the site you promote.
Therefore, if for example, your nfsbooks.com site had an affiliate program and you wanted to send your visitor specifically to “www.nfsbooks.com/gwithorder.html” , then you could simply do that by adding a code like:
“http://someaffiliatecode.nfsbooks.com/gwithorder.html”
That is just an EXAMPLE; depending on the network the format of affiliate URLs may vary….
b) Distinct links
Most of the time, once you signup with an affiliate program, you’ll be given specific links for each page that the program ALLOWS you to send visitors to.
E.g., let’s say that a site has 10 different pages. The affiliate program may provide you affiliate links for only three of them.
More to the point, you cannot send the visitor DIRECTLY to some of the other pages and still get the commission if they register or buy something.
Where the problem lays?
Imagine our example “www.nfsbooks.com” site.
You have its main page index.html and two other category pages scifi.html and roman.html. The order buttons for the books of those two categories are NOT on the main page. For the first book, it’s on scifi.html and for the second on roman.html.
Hm….What if the affiliate program of that site gives a simple link that leads to the main page? (that’s an extreme example, but simple enough in order to understand this section) You’ll target the two order pages, set the affiliate link of the main page as your destination page and HOPE that when your page shows up the user repeats the same procedure in order to buy a book.
Let me expand on this example to make things more clear. Let’s say that you target the “http://www.nfsbooks.com/gwithorder.html” page and set the affiliate link of the main page as the destination URL… (e.g.) “http://someaffcode.nfsbooks.com”.
When a user clicks the link “http://www.nfsbooks.com/gwithorder.html “ , the main page with your affiliate code will pop-up. However, in order for the user to buy the book from your OWN affiliate page, they will not only have to re-click the “buy the book” link, but also have to go from the main page to the romance category page and then re-click the link.
That additional step greatly reduces your chances to grab the commission if the user decides to buy the book.
The problem becomes harder to manage for sites that offer many products on many different pages using many different registration/order URLs.
If the particular affiliate program gives you a way to encode with your affiliate code every URL then everything is fine.
Otherwise, just find another program to promote. There are hundreds of great affiliate programs that won’t give you a headache.
Target type setting
After you gathered the target keyword/URLs and destination URLs, you’ll have to decide the targeting type. For example, you have to decide if your destination pages will appear at a URL that CONTAINS your target URL or the keywords that the publisher page contains or both . The general rule is that you should find the setting that defines: “I want my page to appear whenever URL s or keywords that CONTAINS my search term (that is, your target URL)”
For others, you should just choose “keyword targeting”, where your keyword is your targeted URL.
If you’ve read the previous sections, then you may have realized that this particular setting will work for both normal and special cases covered.
Amount of traffic
First of all, as I have told you, when you gather your destination pages and set your campaign, you can’t really be sure how much traffic each page will get.
The amount of traffic you’re going to get depends on two things.
a) The popularity of the site and keywords to which the target URL belongs. Unfortunately, there is no certain way to say that site “A” or keyword “A” will bring me more traffic than site “B” or keyword “B”, or that if site “A” or keyword “A” brings me 5 unique hits per day, site “B” or keyword “B” should bring me 10. That’s why testing is of the most importance in the PPV business.
b) Other PPV marketers. When you choose how much to pay for each URL, you should know that the HIGHEST bidding user gets the MOST traffic. So, does it mean that you should always try to be the highest bidder? If possible, YES. However, most of the time, you’re not going to because:
i) Most users choose one or two big sites for each of their niches and that’s all.
For those big sites, there is a very good chance that you’ll get sufficient traffic even if you are the second or third highest bidder.
As a result, for the VAST majority of your target URLs or Keywords, you will have little to zero competition.
ii) Many people will (wrongly) choose SPECIFICALLY the main page of a site to target. For some reason they think, that “main page will give the most traffic, so that’s what I target”. That leaves room for all of us to bid on the more specific URLs.
How much to bid? What is the limit?
If your URL has no competition, which is very likely, you’re going to bid the default $0.002 per view. However, if your URL has some competition, but the affiliate payout is high you can still bid much highe and still make GREAT profit.
A quick example… Let’s say that a specific affiliate program pays $50U.S.D per/sale.
What will happen if you bid 10 times the default ($0.02 or 2 cents) and have a conversion rate of 10%? For every $2 you spend, you will get $50 in return…This is pretty GOOD.
Dividing your campaigns
Let’s say you did the work for three niches. How exactly should you set your campaigns? Should you put each niche on its own campaign or combine all three in one?
There are two things to consider:
a) Geo , Frequency capping and Daily spent limit.
Hooqy Media provides its own GEO targeting rules and frequency capping in the advertiser member interface. In GEO targeting rules, we allow the advertisers to select Country target or City target.
Let’s say that one of your affiliate offers is valid for US customers only and each unique US customer can see the destination page once daily. If you want to get the maximum out of those offers, obviously you are going to create two campaigns with different geo targeting and different frequency capping, one with US targeting with 1/24 hour frequency capping and one more with worldwide targeting with 2/24 hour frequency capping.
In addition, advertisers can enter the approximate amount to spend each day. If you don’t want to set a daily limit, please enter “0″.
b) Daily budget
The minimum deposit for advertiser account is $20. Advertisers can add daily budget to each campaign as low as $1. In addition, we have the low balance feature. When your campaigns are lower than one particular amount and you enter the amount to “transfer the following amount from my advertiser account” box, our system will automatically add funding to your campaign if your advertiser account has funding.
Tracking
Hooqy Media provides the ROI tracking code to advertisers who needs to track different offers and eliminate bad ones. And we recommend our advertisers to use (beginner) ROI tracking code. The ROI tracking is very important when your campaigns use keyword targeting.
If you don’t see any conversions after that particular thousand of views after optimizing your URLs and keywords, then you might want to delete that specific offer. Although, most of the time a bad campaign won’t cost you much, when your campaigns have 20-30 offers, it’s always a good idea to check and delete the non-productive ones.
You might ask, “What are the reasons behind why some offers I promote don’t convert although I use a super targeting method?” There are actually several reasons about the offers other than methodologies of promotions. For example, users may see that price of products or services from offers are much higher than that from local stores near users’ home, etc.
Therefore, be aware that some offers (very few from my experience) will do more harm than good to your pocket.
Misspelled Keyword Strategy To Lower Your Competition
Sunday, November 22nd, 2009 Pay Per View CPV, Search Engine Marketing by hooqySome advertisers complain with us that the bid prices of some popular keywords are higher than others. We understand that this issue occurs in keyword targeting ad network including Hooqy. When keywords yield high conversion rates, the advertisers are willing to bid higher. As a result, the bid price is controlled by the market, not by the ad networks.
To bid keywords at lower cost, we suggest our advertisers to use misspelled keyword strategy. You can use misspelled search terms and keywords that can be spelled in a number of ways, such as geographically different UK and US spellings. These terms, while highly searched, may not be used for many advertisers and therefore give your campaign a competitive edge.
Wrong spelling in Internet search is a pretty common thing in the internet. Bidding for misspelled keywords make sense if you want to lower the price and get the same impression of spelled keywords. As you know, PPC and PPV advertising charge you a certain amount per click/per view and this amount varies depending on the competition among advertisers for certain keywords. For example, if Hooqy may charge your $10 for the keyword ‘diabetes’, the bid for its misspelled alternative will be a lot cheaper (something like $2 or so per click).
This is an excellent mechanism to tap into a percentage of search users who make typos at a lower cost.
Some advertisers will question us whether misspelled keywords are really useful or not. Although English is a global language, the number of people who claim English as their first language is still a small percentage of total Internet users. According to statistics, hardly 8% of the world population use English as their first language. According to our research, there is 32% lead generation which are converted by misspelled keywords.
Misspelled keywords can be useful and allow your campaign to:
1. Target visitors that are commonly misspelled, for instance ‘camra’ instead of ‘camera’
2. Get good traffic from profitable popular search terms that have low levels of competition
3. Capture regional spelling variations, eg. both UK and US spellings of words such as ‘optimisation’ (’optimization’)
Testing And Tracking PPV Campaigns
Thursday, August 27th, 2009 Pay Per View CPV by hooqyWhen CPA affiliaters are buying pay per view (PPV) traffic, it is important that you track down to the keyword level in order to determine what works and what does not work. Besides adding Hooqy Pixel Tracking code into CPA landing page, they usually use sophisticated tracking tools to help you do this.
Otherwise you will have your hands full trying to manage thousands of keywords from various traffic sources. One of the best free tools that is available for tracking is called Prosper202 (http://www.prosper202.com). It is a free tool that will track all the keywords from all your PPV campaigns.
The affiliaters can get real-time data, RSS feeds, keyword tracking, cloaking, spy view, text ad tracking, referrer tracking and much more-all in one place. The best part is that it is free and hosted on your own servers.
After you have implemented the landing URL into Prosper202, the system generates the new URL to the affiliater. When you want to track which keywords can generate conversion, the affiliaters need to edit the URL before they send PPV traffic to CPA campaign. The URL is similar to this:
http://redirect.tracking202.com/dl/xxxxxx?t202kw=[keyword]
Another new tracking tool that appears to have a lot of potential for PPV marketers is called Stats Junky (http://www.statsjunky.com), which is a desktop application that will download all your revenue from the CPA networks and then all your costs data from the PPV websites.
If you have any question about adding tracking links through Pay per view advertising, welcome to send the ticket to us.
Web Copy of the CPV contextual targeting campaign
Saturday, August 22nd, 2009 Pay Per View CPV by hooqyWhen you promotes your campaign or CPA offer through the CPV contextual targeting, you need good copy to attract and hold the attention of potential customers. It is not different when it comes to the copy that you place on your web site.
Without coherent and informative text, your site will soon die, no matter how good your product happens to be. Here are some tactics you can use to make your web copy be all it can be:
1. Keep the copy on your home page simple. Write your copy as if the individual coming to your site knows absolutely nothing about the subject matter, and wants to learn.
2. Make the copy scannable. Using short paragraphs, bulleted lists, and other visual devices will make the text seem less daunting.
3. Keep it upbeat. Use your space to point out what is right with your product, not what is wrong with everybody else’s.
4. Use different fonts. Going with one font for the titles and headers, while using a different one for the text, helps to break up the monotony and keep interest levels higher.
5. Use different colors. Just remember to use a color that makes the text stand out from the background, and is perfectly legible. Yellow text on a white background doesn’t make things easy for the reader.
6. Don’t go overboard with fonts and colors. If you think there is too much of either on a given page, you’re probably right.
7. Put some thought into your headlines. Keep them short, but interesting. People are more likely to read what follows.
8. Use keywords in your headlines. This will help with the page ranking as much as the words in the body of your copy.
9. Ask a question in your headline. Questions invite people to engage with the text, rather than simply read it.
10. Stay away from all capital letters in your headline. It rarely looks good and sometimes looks contrived.
11. Forget extra characters in your headline. They add nothing to it and will likely obscure the words, something you don’t want to happen.
12. Don’t include hot links in the headlines. You’ll get more mileage if you keep the links in the body of the copy.
13. Revise the headline slightly now and then. It can help old copy attract new attention.
14. Keep the font size of the headline in proportion with the rest of the page. You loose valuable space when it is too big, and it is lost on the page when it is too small.
15. Add an image to enhance the look of your text. Just make sure it is relevant; not any pretty picture will do.
16. Start paragraphs with a verb. This implies action, which can draw people into what you are trying to convey.
17. Ask questions throughout the text. They make people think and motivate them to keep reading.
18. Keep questions that can be answered with a simple “yes” or “no” to a minimum. Those wrap things up to easily and don’t entice the reader to continue.
19. Spell things correctly. Nothing kills good copy like a bunch of spelling errors.
20. Go with proper grammar. You’ll come off looking like an authority on the subject matter.
21. Avoid big words when and as possible. Try to shoot for sentences composed with words people use every day; it will make the copy more accessible to your audience.
22. Focus on benefits of your product. People need to know how it will make life easier for them.
23. Include simple data on the features. A bulleted list of features, followed with a short paragraph or two on the two main features should be enough.
24. Try writing copy with an outline. It can help you stay on track and avoid rambling.
25. With product descriptions, keep them short and simple. People are more likely to read the entire description.
26. Load the product descriptions with the relevant info on the product.
27. Add a link to each product description that will take the reader to other copy that goes into more detail. People who are really hooked are likely to follow.
28. Always go for closure with your copy. Invite the client to purchase now rather than later.
29. Set reasonable pricing. If what you charge is out of line with similar products, you won’t get much in the way of sales.
30. Compare your prices with similar products. This will help keep you competitive.
31. Consider installing a translator for your copy. It will open up new markets for the product.
32. Never publish copy after your first draft. Set it aside and go back the next day for a second look. Chances are you will see things that were not obvious at first, and you can correct or improve them.
33. Ask a friend to read your copy. A different set of eyes may spot things you don’t see.
34. Optimize your content. Use online tools to find relevant keywords that people are using for Internet searches and work them into your text. Avoid using the same phrase or keyword too often, as that can actually hurt your ranking.
35. Once your content is live, find places to bookmark your site. Include a small sample of the text to intrigue readers to click over and take a better look.
36. Consider offering volume discounts on your product, if appropriate. Everybody likes a bargain.
37. Make sure the copy flows from one page to the next. Ideally, the reader should be able to see a logical progression as he or she keeps reading the pages. Include hot links just below the text on one page to take the reader to the next one.
38. Run your text through a plagiarism tool. This will help you determine if there are phrases and other parts of the text that are too much like the text on some other web page. Too much duplication will result in lower ranking.
39. Add to your copy regularly. It will keep your site fresh and also give search engines another reason to take a second look.
40. Allow visitors to leave comments or submit them privately. You may get some inspiration for new copy, or get feedback that helps you make some existing copy a little more user friendly.
41. Start every article with a thesis statement. Remember those? It helps tell the reader up front what you are going to talk about. As a way to motivate people to keep reading, this is a great tool.
42. Limit your paragraphs to three to five sentences. Longer paragraphs are visually tiring and may discourage readers.
43. Focus on one benefit or relevant fact per paragraph. Cramming too much in too little space will overwhelm readers and cause them to move on before they finish.
44. Always write a summation. A good summation reinforces the more important points in the mind of the reader.
45. Avoid awkward phrases. If it doesn’t look right, even if your grammar tool passes it, change the wording a bit.
46. Read your text aloud. Articulating the text will often point out little defects that would not come to light otherwise.
47. Write more than you need, then pare it down to a word count that is right for your purposes. It is much easier to edit than it is to create extra text on the back end.
48. Hang on to that extra copy that you edit out of the one article. It may be the basis for another bit of copy you can use on the site or in your advertising.
49. If you feel stumped, get away from the word processor for a few moments. A break can give you fresh perspective and get the flow of ideas started again.
50. Always check your facts. Nothing hurts good copy like poor documentation.
The PPV to CPA Game
Sunday, August 16th, 2009 Pay Per View CPV by hooqyBuying traffic from Pay per view networks is one of the fastest ways to generate traffic and test CPA offers.
We are going to briefly touch on the topic of how to use Pay Per View to drive traffic to CPA offers.
Keyword Strategies
Any one of the following keyword strategies can bring you a ton of targeted traffic to your CPA offers quickly. We suggest that you take advantage of all the strategies that we write about so that you can reach as many prospects as possible.
The Alexa Technique
We have made hundreds of thousands of dollars in CPA affiliate commissions using this keyword strategy.
The strategy involves bidding on related domain names to the CPA offer that you are promoting.
This strategy will bring targeted visitors to your CPA offers that will drive your conversion stats through the roof.
Trust us.
Let me give you an example.
If you are promoting a product related to baby diapers, there are no rules that prevent you from bidding on domain keywords such as pampers.com, www.pampers.com, huggies.com, and many other different variations of these domain names.
This is a powerful strategy because Internet users are inherently lazy. We and many other pay per view marketers who have studied surfer habits have discovered that a lot of people are quite often too lazy to type the domain name they want to visit in the location bar and sometimes just type it into the search form of major search engines such as Google and MSN.
Think about the possibilities if you start bidding on domain names that are relevant to your CPA offer? Your campaign is popping up and it can instantly grab the attention of the user and direct them to the landing page of the CPA offer you are promoting.
One method of determining which domain name to bid on for a CPA offer is to simply type in the most related keyword to the CPA offer into a major search engine such as Google, Yahoo or Bing.
There is a web site on the Internet that gives you the ability to quickly locate targeted domain names to bid on. You can easily find a variety of domains related to whatever product or service you are promoting by using a web site called Alexa.
Alexa.com is a web site ranking service that ranks roughly 5% of all the Internet traffic. we know that it is not a lot, but it does give you some idea as to the web sites that are popular.
Alexa gathers its data from a free toolbar that people install in their browser window. The toolbar then gathers traffic details, but also studies the surfing habits of their users.
Although Alexa is skewed more towards Internet marketing related web sites (due to the fact that most of the people who use Alexa are Internet marketers), you can still get a good amount of information.
This is such a powerful keyword strategy that we cannot stress the importance of it.
What we normally do is enter a domain name that I think is heavily related to a CPA offer that I am promoting in the search field under the green “Traffic Rankings” tab on Alexa.com.
What Alexa returns is information on this particular domain such as traffic, user reviews, web site statistics and a wealth of other information.
The information that we are specifically looking for is under “People who visit this page also visit:” section because I easily get a ton of new related domain names to bid on.
Alexa tracks how people move from web site to web site, so they have a history of related web sites for each domain you search for.
But it gets even better.
For each of the domain names that show up, you can actually drill down for the site info on that domain name and get a whole new batch of other related domain names to promote your CPA offer with.
Obviously the further you drill down, the less relevant the domain names will become, but you will find some goldmine domain names to bid on that can bring you thousands of targeted prospects.
You could easily compile a list of 50 to 100 domain names in a short period.
Misspelled Keywords Technique
One trend that you will notice that users do a lot when searching for information on the Internet is that they make a lot of spelling mistakes. In fact, you have probably made a number of misspelled search queries yourself.
You can capitalize on this by placing bids for the most common misspellings for relevant keywords or key phrases that you are trying to target.
Some sources indicate that up to 20% of all keyword searches done on the Internet are misspelled. This gives you a huge opportunity to bid on misspelled keywords and pay a fraction of the cost of a properly spelled keyword.
There are a couple of products on the market that can help you generate thousands of misspelled keywords. Brad Callen’s “Keyword Elite” has a feature already built into it that creates misspelled keyword lists and Rod Beckwith has a cheaper standalone misspelled keyword program called “Misspelled Keywords.”
Typo Generator
http://tools.seobook.com/spelling/keywords-typos.cgi
Good Keywords
http://www.goodkeywords.com
Keyword Elite
http://www.keywordelite.com
Misspelledkeywords.com
http://www.mispelledkeywords.com
Geo Bidding Technique
What this strategy involves is bidding on keywords that are particular to a geographic region such as a state or city. For example, you could be promoting a “car insurance” CPA offer.
There are a lot of searches done by users who are looking for car insurance information for a particular region.
For example, someone in Florida may type “florida car insurance rate” into the search field rather than just “car insurance rate.” I have used this strategy for a variety of different CPA offers and have seen a huge spike in traffic and good conversions.
Tracking for CPV campaign
Saturday, August 15th, 2009 Pay Per View CPV by hooqyWhen you create the CPV campaign, you must absolutely track the data. If you are not prepared to do this, I suggest you stop to run the campaign before you read this article.
When tracking, you must track everything such as:
• Traffic Source
• Ad Groups
• Keywords
• Ad Variations (CTR and Conversions)
• Type of Ad (Text or Image)
• CPA offers
• Landing Pages
If you are buying traffic from pay per view, then the most important item that you need to track are the keywords that you are bidding on.
You will see the 80-20 rule in your campaigns where 20% of the keywords are responsible for 80% of the traffic.
You only need to make adjustments to these 20% of your keywords to have a major impact on your ad campaign’s performance.
Pay per view traffic provides conversion tracking down to the keyword level. You can pull these conversion tracking codes from your PPV accounts and place the tracking codes at advertiser’s success page.
Also, if your CPV campaign is getting from CPA affiliate networks, almost all affiliate networks give you the ability to append Sub ID’s to your affiliate URLs for every unique URL. Most of contextual advertising networks will allow you to pass the keyword using dynamic keyword insertion.
For example, for Hooqy Media, all you have to do is append [keyword] to your affiliate URL and you will be able to track all your click-thru’s by keyword.
http://www.affiliateurl.com/subid1=[keyword]
So you can also log into your CPA affiliate accounts and see what keywords have converted in the “subid” reports section.
Create high quality landing page in seconds
Wednesday, August 12th, 2009 Pay Per View CPV by hooqyThe following are criteria that we suggest before starting your CPV campaign (landing page) to promote through Hooqy Media Network. We will look at the advertiser’s landing page and see how they rank against the criteria below.
- Headline
- Clarity
- Relevance
- Scarcity
- Social Proof
- Call To Action
Headline
Marketing statistics indicate that the headline is responsible for 80% of the ad copy. This means that you literally have only a few seconds to grab the attention of the prospect. Make sure the landing page that you are promoting has a clear headline that captures the prospect’s attention.
Use a headline that taps into the prospect’s emotions because people generally make decisions based on their emotions rather than logic. We have listed a ton of best headline words and phrases below. This will save you time and go a long way towards helping you create killer headlines even if you suck at ad writing:
Clarity
The landing page should be clear and concise. If a landing page that is confusing, you will lose the prospect. You want to make sure that the landing page has a clean design and is easy to read.
Relevance
Hooqy Media provides contextual targeting feature to the advertisers. When you create the CPV campaign in Hooqy Media, make sure that you choose the relevant channel and keywords. Basically the prospect should know what to expect when they visit at your landing page. If your keywords and channel are not relevant to what you promised the prospect, you will be wasting the visit.
Scarcity
People generally will respond to an ad where they have something to lose more than an ad that shows them how they will gain.
People do not like the fear of loss. That is why scarcity tactics such as a time limit or quantity limit work extremely well on a landing page. For example, if you look at some diet offers, they have landing pages that indicate that there are only 75 free trial offers remaining.
A time limit such as “Expires In The Next 10 Minutes” also creates the sense of urgency for the prospect to complete the offer.
Social Proof
Social proof works well in environments where people do not know what choice they should make. The use of testimonials or endorsements works well on landing pages because they provide that social proof.
Call To Action
Try to design your landing page that have the “call to action” above the fold. This means that as soon as the person sees the landing page on the screen, the form which they need to fill in is right there. The call to action should clearly indicate to the prospect what the next course of action should be.
Power of Pay per View Traffic
Saturday, August 8th, 2009 Pay Per View CPV by hooqyBesides CPC (cost per click), more affiliates start to dabble in CPV (cost per view) to drive more traffic to CPA offers. CPV marketing is extremely powerful and targeted.
CPV is highly targeted because you can pop up whatever you want to promote on targeted web sites and keywords.
So CPV looks like a viable medium to test and is a lot cheaper than Cost Per Action (CPA) or the highly debated banner impressions model.
Banner impressions is usually sold by number of impressions, which means every time your banner is displayed regardless of the action of the website visitor. But with CPV your ad is only displayed depending on the keywords used.





